FIOFAFI Archive

Regular indoor football, sport and other activity for working adults in Singapore

FIOFAFI Participation In A Futsal League

Posted by rajiv on 29 January 2009

I previously said

For those of us who thrive on competition, seek the thrill of victory in league competition, and who are prepared to make the necessary commitment, there is the option of putting together a FIOFAFI team to play in a futsal league, ….

Sports Planet are trying their hand at organising their own league. Each league comprises of 8 teams playing each other twice, so a total of 14 games per team, played over four months. The fee is S$1,120 per team,  that is, S$80 per team per game.

The two leagues that will run from March to June 2009 are:

  • The Corporate League, with matches to be played on Mondays from 8 to 9 pm.
  • The Men’s Open Category, with matches to be played on Sundays from 10 to 11 am.

Of course, all games will be played at Sports Planet @ East Coast.

There is no limit to the number of players a team can register.  However, ony 10 players can particpate in each match (5 on the pitch + 5 substitutes).

If there are a sufficient number of people who want to play in a competitive league, and are prepared to make a sufficient commitment, also recognising that with 5 substitutes per game, you may not actually spend much time playing, I will try to find a sponsor for a FIOFAFI team to participate in the league.  I’d look to cover both the fee and the cost of jerseys.

If there are more than 10 players available for a game, we could either go with the 10 highest ranked players, or we could do Survivor/Big Brother style votes to eliminate a few to bring numbers down to 10 (said half in jest).

If you are interested in playing for FIOFAFI in the league, please add your name as a comment below, and your availability at the stated time slots.

Please also vote in the following poll:

The number of votes should be equal to the number of people stating their interest in the comments below.

11 Responses to “FIOFAFI Participation In A Futsal League”

  1. Boris said

    1120.. Looks more like a ploy to make money. That’s a lot of dough. Prize better be worth it. I most likely won’t be around by then anyway. Dang!

  2. yaseen said

    Yup would be interested. hopefully it generates enough interest from the rest..

  3. rajiv said

    I most likely won’t be around by then anyway.

    Where you going Boris?

    Someone voted who didn’t comment here. Franco, was that you? 🙂

  4. Shankar said

    Mondays are good for me.

  5. Edardy Sukayman said

    I would love to play in the tournament

  6. Boris said

    Sadly I am here in Singapore only temporarily. I am with a Singaporean company but attached to their Dubai branch so I will be going there though I have no idea when. Could be in 3 days or 3 weeks or even 3 months. I don’t know. 😐

  7. rajseran said

    I am interested in participating if we can get sponsors 🙂

  8. rajiv said

    I’d hope to get at least 15 players interested, as I assume that not everyone will be able to make it every Monday night or Sunday morning (as the case may be). Only 5 so far.

    Like I said, some of these other activities may take a while to grow.

  9. Boris said

    I can play if I am still here 🙂

  10. rajiv said

    Only 6 votes and 5 replies (including Boris, who is away). I would imagine the 6 votes includes those who replied, which means we don’t have enough interest to form a team.

    If there is more interest later in the year, I’ll come back to it then.

  11. […] early opportunity to put up a FIOFAFI team with the FIOFAFI jerseys […]

Leave a comment